1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills (QTLS)

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by mortymoo, Jun 10, 2007.

1. I am very confused by the new standards and who they apply to. I am FE trained, working in a secondary school. I am looking to get QTS but could i apply for QTLS instead, and would this be valid in a secondary school.

I have been teaching part-time for 3 years, 2 of which were my PGCE years. (I did it part-time in the evenings.)

Can anyone clarify this, the site isn't that helpful.

2. I am very confused by the new standards and who they apply to. I am FE trained, working in a secondary school. I am looking to get QTS but could i apply for QTLS instead, and would this be valid in a secondary school.

I have been teaching part-time for 3 years, 2 of which were my PGCE years. (I did it part-time in the evenings.)

Can anyone clarify this, the site isn't that helpful.

3. QTS for schools brings QTLS for FE if you land an FE job you'd apply for QTLS.
    QTLS for FE doesn't bring QTS.
    Do the QTS and you're laughing.
    QTLS rolls out from September 2007 but it'll be a year or so before it really impacts.

4. I was talking to a colleague at university this morning about this.

He said something very interesting but it is theoretical.

Under the APL system it could THEORETICALLY be possibe for a DRB to award QTS directly from QTLS under the current assessment only system without any evidence folder or observations of teaching etc.