1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Qualified secondary teacher: primary TA supply?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by Linda_Lou, Sep 4, 2011.

1. Hi everyone, I'm wondering if this is a good idea for me, and if I'm likely to get any work over the next month or two?

I am an experienced secondary English teacher who has been trying to get back into work part-time since 2007, after taking a career break to raise my child. Virtually no such jobs here. I had a string of temporary contracts at one school lasting a year and a half and then did day-to-day supply for a year. That totally dried up and I allowed myself to be strung along by promises from supply agencies that there would be work, but there never was; it was all going to cover supervisors. Seems I can't get work in my own field now either because I applied for two part-time jobs last spring and was not invited to interview for either. I'm aware that the GCSE syllabus has changed, and I haven't taught for 2 years now. It's been pretty crazy and frustrating, and money is a problem.

I seem to be in a pool of people now who are on a waiting list for a job with the civil service. They didn't tell me that it could take 6 months or more after my interview to actually be asked to start, and now that I know this I want to do something to earn some money; I have no idea when I will hear from them again.