1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Qualifications Required to teach in Universities?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by coldmetal, Feb 4, 2017.

1. coldmetal

coldmetal Occasional commenter

I am a Further education lecturer (Graphics & Media) but I think I may be better suited to University teaching as I was in industry for many years - I have DTLLS but not MA - can i teach in unis? anyone know what the rules are?
    As I have been a professional I find it problematic when I have to teach the lower level students and it is so frustrating for me they don't get it and they can't do it and theyr'e often not interested anyway; displaying such immaturity as to mess around throughout the sessions - I want to teach people with some affinity and who really want to learn.

2. blueskydreaming

blueskydreaming Lead commenter

You'll need a phd in your subject to teach at uni.

'As I have been a professional I find it problematic when I have to teach the lower level students and it is so frustrating for me they don't get it and they can't do it and theyr'e often not interested anyway' - but this is the whole point of teaching; your job is to show them how to do things, to inspire and interest them. to guide and help them. If you don't like doing the thing that is the crux of your job, then you need a different job. I think you know that though don't you, having read your other posts.

3. DYNAMO67

DYNAMO67 Lead commenter

I don't think you * need* a PhD to teach in a university, but realistically most will want it. I don't know your subject area though.

Like the above I question whether this whole profession is for you. I would look to return to industry

4. MisterW

MisterW New commenter