1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Qualifications in SEN

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by anthonybiggs, Jun 19, 2011.

1. Hi, Just wondering what qualifications people have done in SEN or anything teaching related that i can do to add to my CPD.

Many thanks
    Anthony

2. Hi, Just wondering what qualifications people have done in SEN or anything teaching related that i can do to add to my CPD.

Many thanks
    Anthony

3. Dodros

Dodros Lead commenter

When I moved from MFL into SEN in the mid-1990s, I studied for a part-time Advanced Diploma in Special Needs in Education with the Open University. I had already done an MA in German and an MEd in comparative education in the 1970s and 1980s, so I knew what part-time study involved and the Open University SEN course fitted the bill admirably. I no longer wanted to sit in a university classroom alongside other knackered teachers after a full day's work at the chalk-face and the OU only offered a few Saturday morning sessions on a voluntary basis, which I chose to attend. Contact with my tutor was generally by phone and the OU provided all the course materials. The course content was appropriate to my SEN work in school and I was able to use my classroom experience in the assignments. The assessment was as rigorous as you would expect, but the tutorial guidance was first-class.

4. There are lots of distance learning courses run by universities, you can usually do one part time in 12 months and it would be worth 60 credit points towards an MA. you can choose diverse courses from managing students with ADHD in a classroom to improving literacy for SEN students to doing a NASCO (national award for SENCO )