1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

QTS

Discussion in 'Overseas trained teachers' started by philipmewood, Jan 29, 2016.

1. philipmewood

philipmewood New commenter

Hello everyone,

I have recently applied for QTS in the UK after having been teacher trained in Australia. I am currently working as a teacher in Hong Kong where I have been for the last ten years. I am considering my options and i would like to gain QTS as I may be looking to return to the UK (my place of birth and where I went to school) to teach in the future.

As I gained my Bachelor of Education in Victoria, Australia when I applied for QTS they asked for evidence that I am or I have been a registered teacher in the state of Victoria. i explained that although I trained in Victoria i have never taught there as I left for the Northern Territory as my first teaching post when I finished my degree. They checked the online registry of teachers in the NT and I am not listed on there either so I contacted the NT education department and they told me that teacher registration only began in the NT in 2004, as I worked there in 2003 they have no record of me.

I have therefore been told that without a letter from either the Victorian or NT education department stating that I am/was a registered teacher with no record of suspension I am unable to receive QTS in the UK.

This is despite the fact that I am a British citizen who has previously taught as a teacher in the UK and I have a Bachelor of Education from a recognised Australian university along with 3 Master's degrees in education and over 12 years teaching experience in Australia, the UK, Japan and Hong Kong.