1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

QTS without completing NQT year - working as a EY educator?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by lostandnotfound, Aug 12, 2015.

1. lostandnotfound

lostandnotfound New commenter

Hello,

I graduated with a BEd Primary Education in 2010. I didn't do my NQT due to various reasons and have done supply work for the past 4 - 5 years.

I desparately want to leave this behind me and get a full time job where I can start building relationships and be part of a team. It's a lonely world in supply.

However, I would like to become a Early Years Educator instead of a Primary Teacher (again, for various reasons)

At one of my settings that I cover at, they have two positions they are looking to fill. I asked if they would consider me and they asked me to research whether or not I could do that...?

I read the following on the goverment education page;

"Practitioners who started a training programme leading to the award of Early Years Professional Status (EYPS), Early Years Teacher Status (EYTS) or Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) before 1 September 2014 can count in the EYFS staff:child ratios at levels 3 and 6 when they have been awarded the status."

I think that this is saying yes I can?

So I have QTS but without the induction year, is that a bad thing?

Also because I did not do the Early Years route (my degree is technically R to Yr6) will that put me at a disadvantage?

Sorry if this was a bit sporadic. I wanted to get the facts down and not be too waffle-y haha.

Thanks in advance!

2. May2

May2 Established commenter