1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

QTS recognised Spain

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by caoimhehurley, Jun 1, 2012.

1. I have a four year degree and I did PGCE primary. I have QTS status.
    Is this recognised in Spain. I want to work for a state school and I
    want to get my qualifications homologated. I want to know if anyone has
    any experience doing this. I know it takes ages for qualiications to be
    homologated but will they aacept QTS??

thanks all

2. I have a four year degree and I did PGCE primary. I have QTS status.
    Is this recognised in Spain. I want to work for a state school and I
    want to get my qualifications homologated. I want to know if anyone has
    any experience doing this. I know it takes ages for qualiications to be
    homologated but will they aacept QTS??

thanks all

3. spanboy

spanboy Occasional commenter

I don't work in state sector but suspect you will probably have to go through the 'oposiciones' test and, if successful, will be placed in a school which could be many kms away from where you choose to live. A Spanish friend of mine lives in Malaga and works in Cordoba - 150km away!! My Spanish colleagues tell me horrific stories of past experiences working in Spanish state schools - but I'm sure there are good and bad ones.
    I presume you must be fluent in Spanish?
    Your qualifications are fine for international/Bristish schools.

4. Madrid are working on this but I don't think anything has been published in the BOE yet.