1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

QCT teacher registration troubles!

Discussion in 'Australia - Staffroom' started by amydaviess66, Oct 17, 2017.

1. amydaviess66

amydaviess66 New commenter

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if someone could help!

I am a Secondary English Teacher in the Uk and I am moving to Brisbane end of December. I have a working holiday visa for now but have started the 189 visa for a more permanent option. In regards to securing a teaching job, I have has my AITSL assessment approved as suitable and then went on to apply for my teacher registration through QCT. For weeks they have had all the required documents and references and all fees have been paid so I thought and assumed everything was going ok just taking a while because i am an overseas applicant. However, just yesterday I was told by QCT that my PGCE is not acceptable for teacher registration. This threw me as I had been accepted by AITSL. They are claiming it is not one year of higher education full time and that it is not academic enough. I went through the school direct route but still attended University days, lectures and completed all the PGCE academic assessments. I have the Masters PGCE certificate as well as my QTS. What is going on? Help?

Thanks in advance :)

2. kaylawilson4

kaylawilson4 New commenter Tes Australia careers peer advisor

Hi @amydaviess66

I'm sorry to hear you are having such trouble with your registration!! I know it can be a very frustrating process with lots of hoops to jump through, and it sounds like you've gone through all the right channels.