1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Qatar Schools

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by sun5hine, Dec 30, 2011.

1. sun5hine

sun5hine New commenter

Happy New Year.
    A good friend of mine has recently been offered a job in Doha and is now looking for primary and secondary schools for his 2 daughters, who are still back in the UK. I have no knowledge of Doha and I know we are not supposed to name names, but any advice would be much appreciated. Thank you :)

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

And a Happy New Year to you too, sun5hine.
    What your friend needs to do is to have a good look at www.qatarliving.com in the "Family" section. There is a lot of information there about the different schools in Doha, most of which is written from a parent's perspective, as opposed to a teacher's. In a nutshell, there are some very good schools in Qatar and also there are some that are not quite in the same league. The good schools are very oversubscribed (I know of one lady who waited three years for a place for her son at one popular school in Doha) and the schools that might perhaps have places available are so horrible that you will soon realize why.
    On the whole, school fees are very high and paying a lot of money does not necessarily guarantee quality or even availability. Most companies usually pay most of the school fees for their employees, but often there is a bit of a gap between what the school charges and what the company actually is prepared to pay. You could also look up the reviews of the Qatar schools in the International Schools' Review. Some of the reviews are somewhat less than flattering.