1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Python

Discussion in 'Computing and ICT' started by Bateman8936, Jan 12, 2012.

1. Bateman8936

Bateman8936 New commenter

First post!
    So, I'm a PGCE ICT student with a degree in Computer Science. With all of the hype at the moment about what's going to happen to ICT and Computer Science, my view is that both of the disciplines are extremely valuable and both have a place in schools.
    Anyway, before Christmas, during my first placement I was speaking with my HOD and we both had similar views, valuing ICT but seeing the value in increasing technical demand. As such, we decided that the SoW that I have to plan for my return to the placement after Easter should be something along the lines of a brief introduction to Computer Programming for KS3. I've been toying with a number of ideas for this and I'm keen to avoid Scratch as this is already taught in another unit. So, after numerous conversations, I've been looking at Python. Has anyone used this for any KS3 lessons and how did it go?
    I'm just looking for some general tips and advice really as this is my first scheme of work planning something new to the school.
    Thanks in advance for any help!

2. Bateman8936

Bateman8936 New commenter

First post!
    So, I'm a PGCE ICT student with a degree in Computer Science. With all of the hype at the moment about what's going to happen to ICT and Computer Science, my view is that both of the disciplines are extremely valuable and both have a place in schools.