1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pushy Parents. Please Help!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by jameswalker12, Feb 27, 2011.

1. Hi all,
    I have about five or six 'pushy' parents in my class who constantly bombard me with questions, advice and generally anything they can think of. At first, I was willing to accommodate them, however, it has become very frustrating as they ask questions at the most inappropriate times i.e. first thing in the morning while I am setting up and a lot of my time seems to be spent 'spoon feeding' these parents. I am a Year 2 teacher and I understand that their children are young, but this is one of the reasons I want to teach in the higher primary school.
    So, my question is: how can I deal with these types of distractions? What strategies can I use? Have any of you encountered the same problem? If so, how did you deal with it?

Any advice you can give me would be greatly appreciated.
    James.

2. Hi all,
    I have about five or six 'pushy' parents in my class who constantly bombard me with questions, advice and generally anything they can think of. At first, I was willing to accommodate them, however, it has become very frustrating as they ask questions at the most inappropriate times i.e. first thing in the morning while I am setting up and a lot of my time seems to be spent 'spoon feeding' these parents. I am a Year 2 teacher and I understand that their children are young, but this is one of the reasons I want to teach in the higher primary school.
    So, my question is: how can I deal with these types of distractions? What strategies can I use? Have any of you encountered the same problem? If so, how did you deal with it?