1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pushing higher attainers in reading

Discussion in 'English' started by dbattersby94, Nov 5, 2018.

1. dbattersby94

dbattersby94 New commenter

Hello,
    I have recently been given some responsibility within English at my school. Specifically pushing higher attainers in reading.
    I'm trying to prepare a document with extension/challenge activities linked to the reading content domains. I have exhausted google search for this but I am still lacking in some areas. I wondered if any of you guys have any ideas I could use?
    Also, as I am an RQT I have limited knowledge and experience in this field and therefore I've been looking for training. I haven't managed to find anything amazing so I wondered if anyone knew of any good courses, or training providers, for pushing higher attainers in reading. Any advice you could give would be greatly appreciated.
    Finally, any other suggestions, activities or ideas for pushing higher atainers in reading would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

2. roamingteacher

roamingteacher Established commenter Forum guide

You haven't indicated the setup for this, so it's difficult to advise. Is this within or outside class time? Does these high attainers meet as a group, or is it for independent activities they should be able to complete independently? And you mention 'reading content domains' - can you expand on this?
    I'm sure there'll be plenty of suggestions, but just need the parameters.
    Cheers!

3. dbattersby94

Hi,