1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pupils to train teachers in behaviour management?

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by gusfisher, May 15, 2011.

1. I am a year 8 form tutor and my form are particularly vocal about what they perceive to be gross miscarriages of justice (being told to stop talking when they have been chatting all lesson, getting a detention for not doing their homework when they have a perfectly good excuse involving a dog, or unmissable telly) and it started to worry me that pupil/teacher relationships were getting so bad. I went to talk to the HOY about it and she came up with the idea of putting together a CPD session for BTs / NQTs / RQTs to be delivered by the students about the dos and don'ts of behaviour managemet, as seen by the kids.
    I'm aware that the whole thing will have to be taken with a generous pinch of salt and we won't be asking those who turn up to take what the kids say as what they should do in future lessons because total chaos would ensue but we thought it would be an interesting insight into the workings of a 13 year old's mind, and a bit of extra responsibility for the students in my form.
    I am writing to ask if anyone out there has any ideas of how I should do this. Should I get the whole class involved, or just ask a few? How much input should I have, as the teacher? Would it be more meaningful if they planned the whole thing themselves? Any ideas for activities we could do?
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated and I'll let you know how it goes

2. If your planning on taking what they say with a generous pinch of salt then let the kids fly.