1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pupil folders - what to keep?

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by Wotworklifebalance, Sep 9, 2019.

1. Wotworklifebalance

Wotworklifebalance New commenter

Hi All
    I'm new in post, leading an autism SRB attached to a mainstream high school.

The pupil files that I have inherited are ... capacious! In some cases, I think that everything that anyone has ever written about the pupil has been recorded for posterity ... behaviour incident logs for Y9 pupils from when they were in Y3, reply slips from parents confirming that they were coming ot a meeting two years ago ... you get the picture.

I'd really like to get rid of everything which is no longer relevant so that the files are more user-friendly but obviously need to keep anything which is statutory.

Any advice please? What do I legally have to keep? What do you suggest that I keep?

Many thanks

2. phlogiston

phlogiston Star commenter

As an interim why not have an archive folder of stuff that seems no longer relevant, but can be accessed if needed? Then the active folder can store the material you think you still need

Wotworklifebalance likes this.
  3. dzil

dzil Occasional commenter

Check with the school admin officer what your school system requires as that varies between schools. They should be able to tell you the current statutory requirements as well.(or find out for you)
    If they are vague or an answer takes too long I’d go with a base of:
    Last 3 years ECHP, annual reviews iep’s and reports and behaviour records.
    Last 3 years worth of letters from professionals.