1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Punishing primary chn for not doing homework or reading?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by quadraticequation, Nov 16, 2011.

1. I am new to a school and they said that if the children don't complete their homework or read at home from year 3 onwards they must lose their playtimes. They stay in and complete the homework. If they don't have an adult signature in their reading records, they stay in.

I really feel against this. I just wondered if this is standard practise or even allowed?

Your input gratefully received.

2. do teachers realise how old year 3 children are? year 4? They are 8/9 aren't they? What jot of a difference is homework going to make to them. All their learning is based on interaction. The teacher is the most important person is the teacher and the calssroom interactions. How can that ever be continued in any meaningful way at home.
    Teachers need to think very carefully about this. Homework is one of the most divisive and stress inducing elements in the home-school relationship. It should NEVER be obliged, co-erced or related in anyway to punishment. Even where it is purprted to foster some kind of 'indpendent' study skills for later in life it fails its purpose - (most parents do large amounts of it and clever secondary students use the free periods that primary don't get anyway, in whch to finish outstanding tasks-)