1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Promotion to Head of Drama

Discussion in 'Drama and performing arts' started by kategrimshaw1, Mar 14, 2012.

1. Hello, I have been teaching Drama in the same school for almost 5 years and have really enjoyed it but have decided recently that it is time to look for a HOD post.
    I have had a few interviews where have been up against exisiting HODs. I am wondering if anyone could shed some light on whether a school would generally look for an existing HOD or someone to offer the experience to? I am starting to feel a little despondant as not sure how to get the experience needed (if that's what is being looked for) without someone taking the chance on me and giving me the opportunity!
    Any thoughts?

2. Hello, I have been teaching Drama in the same school for almost 5 years and have really enjoyed it but have decided recently that it is time to look for a HOD post.
    I have had a few interviews where have been up against exisiting HODs. I am wondering if anyone could shed some light on whether a school would generally look for an existing HOD or someone to offer the experience to? I am starting to feel a little despondant as not sure how to get the experience needed (if that's what is being looked for) without someone taking the chance on me and giving me the opportunity!
    Any thoughts?

3. Good for you and your development mission and good luck!