1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Promotion opportunity or not?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by chopsuey25, Mar 22, 2016.

1. chopsuey25

chopsuey25 New commenter

Hello

I need some objective advice but at the moment I am feeling very emotional and angry about a situation and i just can’t think straight.
    My HOD is leaving. I am 2nd in department and expected to step into her role as I have many years of experience of teaching in my school. HOD handed letter in last Monday.
    After this Head teacher interviewed a candidate in my subject for another school who was very experienced and performed very well but did not get the job applied for.
    This Monday my head teacher told me the appointment would be advertised externally. The reason is because of poor results for the last two years. However, I have only taught one of those years and only for 6 months after returning from Mat leave. Prior to this my results were very good-above the national average. Therefore I feel as though I am being punished for the underperformance of my HOD.
    I also feel as though I am being made to apply for a job that should be mine but is not because Headteacher wants to employ recently observed candidate instead but needs to be seen to be acting fairly so is asking me to go through the whole process.
    This school has a history of appointing internally and has made many appointments this way without all the fuss of an external advert which makes this situation all the more unfair in my eyes.
    I have already spoken to the Headteacher to explain the data and asked them to appoint me as acting HOD for a period but they are set on a whole external process.