1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Progression during RQT

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by AKJR007, Aug 14, 2019.

1. AKJR007

AKJR007 New commenter

Hi all,

TL;DR What can an early career teacher be doing to make progress towards a middle management role?

I'm going into my RQT year (secondary English) and am keen to show my ambition to SLT with a view to developing my career. I've always been hugely ambitious and don't like 'standing still', though I entirely appreciate the necessity of establishing myself in the classroom and 'paying my dues' before making any huge leaps.

I work in a school where both my Second and Head of Department are equally fantastic - and static. Although I'd much rather go down the 'departmental' route than the pastoral one (I have a very challenging form group and don't feel that this is where my strengths lie!), we don't have Lead Practitioner roles in our school and therefore I can't really see a way of taking on additional responsibilities within the English department.

Beyond that, it feels like there is a distinct lack of opportunities for early career teachers who want to take steps towards being a middle leader, so am seeking some advice as to what I should be doing. I already assist with three extracurriculars and have supported several trips this year, I attend 75% of the events that the school puts on, and I'm one of the first to sign up for CPD opportunities.

My particular areas of interest are disadvantaged children, careers, literacy and parental outreach.