1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Progress tracking advice

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by dianeathena, Sep 30, 2016.

1. dianeathena

dianeathena New commenter

Hi everyone,

I am a teacher trainee in a special needs school and this is the first year French and Spanish are being taught there. Therefore I don't have an MFL mentor to guide me or any document available to track pupils' progress.
    Does anyone have any advice on that please? Any way of doing it that works particularly well for you and that I could adapt to my pupils?

Thank you!

2. dianeathena

Or do be more specific, how to start gathering progress data when you start from sratch? For instance, I need to do Y7 stuff with my Y9 because they've never studied languages before.

3. snail_friendly

snail_friendly Occasional commenter

Although I don't teach MfL I'm sure that the way progress is tracked in English could easily be transferred, have you spoken to English / Humanities departments within your school to see what good practice they already employ?

Most schools have a system that they like to use, which is often SIMs based - do you have a link mentor within the school who could advise you on what the school policy is?