1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Professional Studies 1 assignment....help!!!

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by coconutsnow, Dec 9, 2010.

1. Hello lovely people at Tes!!! I am a PGCE student! Having battled through my first school placement its time to complete my first 5000 word assignment and I'm struggling BIG time to narrow down a title . We have to right the essay at a lit reveiw so I have been endlessly reading up on issues wih behaviour management strategies but am finding it hard to realy focus on an area that i could argues from both sides.... If anyone has any tips or advise it would be GREATLY appreciated!!! Thanks,

2. Hi there,
    behaviour management seems like a good one to go at - the more traditional strategies like being strict vs positive behaviour management strategies. It's one that's quite high on the agenda everywhere you look, and the current gov are (or have - sorry not up to date myself!) trying to give more flexibilty to head teachers.
    Another one would be (one that I did) is the use of ICT in the classroom. When used effectively it's great but is there a danger that ICT is being used too much at the detrement to lessons?

Also, my advice is to pick out certain points, argue them from both points of view and then draw a conclusion based on the literary evidence. Also, keep an open mind - even if your evidence shows something you don't like or expect!And finally, make notes about different research before trying to put it all into paragraphs. Then you'll be able to see whatyour research is telling you and write your essay as such.

Some others may have different advice, but good luck!