1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Problems on paired placement?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by im1190, Jun 13, 2012.

1. I'm having a few problems on my current placement - I'm in my first year of a BEd, and it's my second placement this year - and my second placement with the same partner!

I'm not the most confident of trainees, but I'm really trying my best to put myself out there and do well. We are with year 6. Anyway, it's out 3rd day with this class and teacher. I feel the teacher is okay - she doesn't seem overly enthusiastic that we are there, but is nice to us, has given us all of her planning, allowed us to do things such as register, lead numeracy starters, work with groups and such - no problems there.

The problem is my partner; she follows me around, constantly. If we're sat on the side of the classroom observing the teacher, when the children are set off on independent work I immediately ask the children about the work, help them, and find those who are struggling so I can sit with them and encourage them. As soon as I get up, she gets up. It's like she is waiting for me to get involved, before she can feel okay to. We observed a P.E lesson as it was the first one we have seen of that class - she literally followed me like my own shadow. If I moved a step, she moves a step. If I move to a different side of the game or group, so does she. At one point she bumped into my arm following me - I had taken two steps.