1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Problems finding job

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by louise_richards852, Dec 6, 2018.

1. louise_richards852

louise_richards852 New commenter

I am looking for advice. I am a UK trained teacher but I have recently returned to England from teaching abroad and am finding it very hard to get employed. I have had 6 interviews and it has only been the first one that gave me any kind of feedback about why I didn’t get the job. The others just ignore my requests for feedback. In some cases I have found that they already know who they are going to give the job to before the interview even takes place.

My last interview, I thought went well, but then I was told I wasn’t as experienced as the other teacher. I have been teaching for 14 years, have been head of department and head of year.

Maybe it’s because I taught iGCSE and IB before I came back to England? And if that is the case I am in a catch 22 position- need experience teaching GCSE and A level to get a job, but need a job to gain the experience.

All my confidence is being eroded quickly. I was a very successful teacher for 10 years with my students achieving the top grades in the school (100% A*/A and 90% IBDP level 7) but for some reason I just can’t get a job here.

Can anyone give me advice on what to do? How can I make myself more suitable to work in England? How can i solve the catch 22 situation?

pepper5 likes this.
  2. MsBehaving

MsBehaving New commenter

Hi