1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Problem with engaging the students and delivery

Discussion in 'Science' started by dkarana, Feb 11, 2011.

1. dkarana

dkarana New commenter

Hi there,
    I am a PGCE student and I have major problem.I am not the kind of person who will jump around and create drama in the class.Although students are involved and focussed but I find it hard to create immediate excitement in my lessons.I do alot of activities and experiments and I am told my planning is excellent but have to work on my delivery.My teaching is perfect for A level students but I feel they also need excitement not only interest in the lesson.Can any one tell me a kind of format to follow so that its easier for me work on it.
    Look forward to responses from all of you wonderful people

2. you're posting on science but you don't say what discipline. Doesn't matter. What do you want to achieve with your students? I'd say that excellent teaching leaves your students intellectually independent. Why not arrange "show and tell".. I'd take a conker into my lesson and just put it on my desk: ask students to comment about it in any way they like.. just use your brains in other words. Finally we'd get on to the fact that if you put this into the ground it would "know" how to grow into a tree that can make other conkers. That was usually enough for anyone to contemplate... and then we'd get on with the lesson, all equally inspired and in awe of Nature.

3. dkarana

dkarana New commenter

Thanks Alderbaran,
    It was really helpful
    I am dealing with secondary Physics.