1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Privilege as a barrier to learning?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by samilou-step, Mar 19, 2016.

1. samilou-step

samilou-step New commenter

Hi there,
    I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this question, but as it environment I currently teach in is a private international school, i figured I'd try here first.

I'm not a complete spring chicken, I've been working in my current school for nearly three years (straight out of the PGCE) and going into an international school, and a private one to boot, I naively assumed that possibly I would have less behaviour management issues that the inner city state schools I had trained in; oh how wrong I was.
    My query and issue in this thread is not how to manage to behaviour, but it's related to behaviour in a sense. I work with students who's social circles are way beyond mine, who's monetary wealth is unfathomable to me, opportunities come so easily to them. Yet, this great privilege they have seems to not enhance learning, but be barrier to it?! They are not interested in developing their minds or learning new skills, because they don't see the value of an education, since they can effectively buy anything (& how they act at times, anybody) they want.

I can remember all throughout PGCE training discussing barriers to learning due to EAL, learning difficulties, lower-socio economic backgrounds, being a young carer, etc. But how do you approach a barrier such as money?
    It's a genuine problem, and it impacts on every part of the school day - attendance, behaviour, study habits, even contributing to taking care of the wider school environment.