1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Private Tutoring v Tuition Centres

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by Georginalouise, Feb 29, 2012.

1. Georginalouise

Georginalouise New commenter

I've been a full time private tutor for almost five years, tutoring mostly A level but with a handful of GCSEs as well. I started with an agency (for about six months) and I now work completely as an independent. At A level, parents want 1 to 1 tuition, and I have plenty of work. I don't advertise at all now, although I did for the first couple of years. I have a primitive website that I wrote myself, that does well in search engines in that I am the first independent tutor in my subject in town behind about eight agencies. Parents who contact me do so because they don't want to use a tuition centre, an agency or a national website. My clients mostly come word of mouth these days but I am still phoned by some who have found me on the internet.

I am now really busy, but it didn't happen overnight. The work slowly increased over about three years before I reached what appears to be my natural capacity.

2. Thanks very much for your replies - your comments have given me some hope so I'll persevere with the idea.

3. I run a KipMcGrath Education Centre and we are so popular that we had a waiting list in under a year with more than 100 students enrolled. Many parents prefer the resources that can be produced by an internationalcompany, using only qualified teachers, as opposed to taking a risk with the unknown quantity of a tutor.