1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Private Tutoring for 11 year old, help!

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by ECM91, Jul 2, 2015.

1. I start my PGDE primary teaching in August and have worked in a primary school for the last year and a half.

I am due to start tutoring an 11 year old over the summer (2hrs per week) before she starts secondary school but I have never done home tutoring before. I am just wondering if anyone has any ideas on what the best methods would be. I am to focus mainly on literacy and numeracy - but also touch other subjects to help her prepare. I am sure I can find a lot of numeracy activities online and in books (hopefully?) but I am not so sure about the literacy. Does anyone have any suggestions of reading books and/or writing activities I could do? I have been asked to do 2 hours work with her and then leave "homework" for the following week. I am really struggling to find ways to take up this time.

Any ideas and info would be really appreciated! Thanks!

2. decj

decj New commenter

I'm sorry, this is probably not what you want to hear, but are you the best person to offer tuition if you're not already a qualified teacher and have never tutored before? Private tutors are professionals who aim to achieve the highest quality provision for their tutees, just as you would in the classroom. They draw on years of experience and resources in order to be able to provide the most appropriate and targeted tuition for the pupil in their charge and it seems to me that you are not best placed to do this. That aside, if you choose to pursue this, then of course you will need to do a full assessment of the pupil's needs first, and then take it from there.