1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

private tutoring and ofsted

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by annewake, Apr 8, 2015.

1. I am a highly experienced teacher thinking of starting private tuition. Will I be liable to Ofsted as a private tutor? Is there any reason why I can not tutor up to 4 children at a time (with similar need)?

Advice from experienced private tutor gratefully received.

2. langteacher

langteacher Occasional commenter

not as far as I know

3. GordonNome

GordonNome New commenter

I came across something a while ago in a different role where there was a question about if you "looked after" the young person for more than 2 hours. I think it was a gym nursery/childcare setting. I don't offer 2 hour sessions for anyone younger than AS/A2 students so think I am exempt. Not sure what happens if you have younger students for a half day.

Surely the rules would be similar to those for a childminder though? I imagine it would depend on length of tuition, whether it was at your home or theirs, and whether you were in sole charge of the child or if they had a responsible adult present.

4. Georginalouise

Georginalouise New commenter