1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Principal for new Beijing school - pitfalls?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by carosd, Feb 24, 2019.

1. carosd

carosd New commenter

I've been involved (friend of a friend - seems to be how this school works) in recruiting a principal for a new k-12 start up school in Beijing. Who'd be happy to chat to me about the pitfalls or challenges of recruiting someone (not me, I'm happy in the UK) for a significant salary ($500,000) but into what is not an established school with back up & reputation? For info, my background is as a UK head, not on the international circuit. Many thanks.

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

carosd, I have sent you one of those awkward TES Conversations.

Pitfalls or pratfalls? One of the major difficulties your principal-to-be will have is recruiting new teaching staff. Yes, salaries in Beijing are two or three times higher than what you might get paid elsewhere in China, but how much will you have to pay for a new pair of lungs? Both laowai and Chinese friends have warned me against teaching in Beijing. Teachers with young children would not be making a mistake by accepting a post in Beijing. No, they would be showing a disregard for their children's health that is almost criminal. Does your friend of a friend have any kind of respiratory problem?