1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Primary teaching in a French-speaking country / area?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by clickcat, Feb 23, 2011.

1. I have a degree and masters from two prestigious UK unis but after a year in Asia which included teaching young children, I really think that I would like to go back to study for a PGCE in Primary. I am also a passionate Francophile but know that it is incredibly difficult to become a primary teacher there, since it is a civil service post, technically. I would like to get back to France as soon as possible, or even to Brussels or Geneva, despite my family telling me to keep moving around the world!

Can I reconcile these two... a love of French and (possibly) primary teaching too? :(

2. I have a degree and masters from two prestigious UK unis but after a year in Asia which included teaching young children, I really think that I would like to go back to study for a PGCE in Primary. I am also a passionate Francophile but know that it is incredibly difficult to become a primary teacher there, since it is a civil service post, technically. I would like to get back to France as soon as possible, or even to Brussels or Geneva, despite my family telling me to keep moving around the world!

Can I reconcile these two... a love of French and (possibly) primary teaching too? :(

3. I teach at an International school in France with a primary section. Why don't you see what jobs are going in the various International schools in France? However you would need a PGCE to get a decent post. Maybe without one you could do language support or something like that. Its a great life here, I would recommend it!

4. SMT dude

SMT dude New commenter