1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Primary Teachers - Do you need a hand with ICT?

Discussion in 'Computing and ICT' started by BrewUp, Aug 13, 2011.

1. I'm looking to do some research before I launch a service for Primary schools to help with ICT and e-Learning. My background is as Secondary ICT teacher, but I have worked with a lot (80-100) Primary schools as an Education Consultant helping to adopt learning platforms.

One of the biggest obstacles I found was along the lines of 'where do we get the time for this'. Support from the LA advisors seemed more of a strategic nature, so the staff were left to get on with it. As an Education Consultant working for the learning platform provider, my time was limited too. We gave them a platform and the training but they were in the end left with it, if they didn't have time after the training they would leave it and they would forget it all so the platform was left unused.

There seemed to be a clear need for more hands-on support, for example to get the learning platform set-up, find and upload resources, deal with ICT suppliers and find solutions that meet requirements and short list things etc. The kind of things that an ICT co-ordinator might be asked to do but does not relate directly with core teaching and learning duties.

It would basically be giving schools an extra member of staff as and when they need it to do the extra stuff. It would be looking at the gap between what the peripatetic ICT support do (I have the education knowledge they dont to ensure the pedagogy is right) and what the ICT co-ordinators do (I have the technical knowledge to bring).