1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Primary supply when secondary trained

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by BelleDuJour, Mar 4, 2011.

1. BelleDuJour

BelleDuJour Star commenter

I've been a supply teacher for 3 years now and have been lucky. I've been pretty much (well almost entirely) fully employed and have had to book a day off if I want one.
    All of this has been secondary and medium term, like half to 2 terms.
    Recently though my contract up to Easter was cancelled because the sick teacher came back and since half term I've been doing day-to-day primary. I've done years 1, 3 and 4.
    The funny thing is.....I rather like it!
    The little ones see a supply teacher as an exciting new person and genuinely want to please you. They are polite, work hard and are very helpful. They thank you at the end of the day.
    On the other hand, secondary pupils view a supply teacher who's in for just a day as fair game and an oppurtunity to have a day off and not do any work.
    I am on primary supply next week too. Love it! [​IMG]

2. I'm secondary trained too, and love primary supply (when they actually give me some work!). In my experience, when kids are still in years 4/5/6 (and even 7/8) education and the curriculum is still lots of fun; after that it's all working to exams which takes all the joy out of it as it's so prescribed. It's no wonder kids gets turned off in high school. I'd rather do number games and colouring bar charts any day. [​IMG]

3. BelleDuJour

It's wierd isn't it? I mean, I thought I'd rather stick pins in my eyes and boil my head in vinegar than teach primary school kids but I really love it! [​IMG]
    The wierdest thing is I loved year 1....help!!!! [​IMG]