1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

primary outreach ideas

Discussion in 'Science' started by Hawkgirl, May 2, 2011.

1. I am a secondary science teacher and am looking for ideas for primary outreach. I am trying to design a 2hr workshop for years 4-6 that I could go into schools to deliver. I am just a bit stumped as to what topics and tasks would be suitable, the idea is to really impress the kids and to get them enthused about the prospect of secondary science.

Does anyone here do anything similar and would they be happy to share ideas? Or does anyone primary trained have any thoughts on a topic you think the pupils would enjoy?

I have never organised anything like this before so any help is much appreciated!!

2. I am a secondary science teacher and am looking for ideas for primary outreach. I am trying to design a 2hr workshop for years 4-6 that I could go into schools to deliver. I am just a bit stumped as to what topics and tasks would be suitable, the idea is to really impress the kids and to get them enthused about the prospect of secondary science.

Does anyone here do anything similar and would they be happy to share ideas? Or does anyone primary trained have any thoughts on a topic you think the pupils would enjoy?

I have never organised anything like this before so any help is much appreciated!!

3. If you are going to the primaries, you will need to take most of what you need with you. If it is at all feasible to get the primary to come to you, you have the added benefit of the lab as a wow factor and the help of your technicians, plus access to all your equipment.