1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Primary NQT - Unbelievably Unfair Situtaion - URGENT

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by umistboy, Jul 13, 2011.

1. A friend of mine (I'm a teacher too) has suddenly found themselves in a horribly stressful situation as a primary NQT (Year 3 teacher).
    During the NQT induction year my friend was observed positively on every occasion between September and April by both the Headteacher and her 2 Induction tutors (they seem to share the role and offer minimal support throughout). She recieved no actual guidance or support, no scheme of work (they made her make her own!) and no resources (she works all day/night throughout NQT year) other than observation feedback and 1/2 termly assessment meetings that included some targets for development (all were met and signed off at next meeting). All was going well.
    She was passed through her first 2 NQT induction assessments. The only remaining points for improvement at the end of the 2nd was the remaining 5 standards for her to "tick off". They also gave her a permamnent post at the school in the last week before easter for this coming September. 2 days later they completed the 2nd NQT assessment and, as I've stated, only briefly mentioned the remaining 5 standards to be ticked off.
    After the Easter break her 2 Induction tutors gave her a grade 4 lesson which sounded extremely harsh and pickey. She was devestated. This happened again the week after and the week after that.
    Then Ofsted came in. Tehy gave her a Grade 2 and a Grade 2 with elelments of 1.