1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Primary NQT feeling like giving up

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by MissHoney232, Jan 24, 2012.

1. I graduated with a high 2:1 in July 2010 after doing a 4 year BA in Primary education. I had been given consistantky good reports throughout sthe 4 years and decided to go on to do supply for a while to get more experience. I then started applying for jobs in March 2010. since then I have sent almost 100 applications and had only about 6 interviews. Each time the interviewer said I had a fantastic interview and a great lesson, but they gave a job to someone who had completed their nqt year and had more experience.

A year and a half after graduating, I am starting to feel cheated. teaching is the only thing I know I am good at and yet here I am with nothing. supply work is scarce and even when it does come about the worry and stress of not knowing what to expect makes me physically sick.

All my friends seem to be moving on, getting promotions, moving out etc, I feel like I havent moved at all, in fact- it feels more like I have failed myself.

I am beginning to regret wasting so so much money on my degree for nothing?! Should I keep putitng myself through this misery, or cut my losses and run?! I feel that when July 2012 comes along, I will have no choice but to do the latter. Anyone else in a smiliar situation?!