1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Primary GTP Interview

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by RosieKM, Jun 14, 2011.

1. Hey guys,
    I had my interview for primary GTP yesterday for East Sussex, before my interview I found the discussions on here about what to expect really helpful so I thought I'd share my experience for anyone yet to have their interview.
    First I was given three newpaper articles and had to select one, I then had half an hour to prepare a 5 minute presentation which gave a summary of the article and how I thought the matters raised would effect me if I was a teacher.
    The interview itself was not as horrendous as I had expected, only two interviewers and they were both really lovely and put me at ease right away. Here are some of the questions they asked me, some of them I can't remember because my mind alawys goes blank instantly after I come out of an interview!
    1. What skills can you bring to teaching and why is a GTP best for you?
    2. What kind of atmosphere should there be in a classroom?
    3. What would you say to a child who said learning was a waste of time?
    4. What values and attitudes does a teacher need and why are these important for safeguarding?
    5. How can you best demonstrate the importance of teamwork?
    6. How would you feel about having children from mixed backgrounds in your class and how do you best break down barriers?
    7. In 10 years time if you overheard two former pupils talking about you what would you like to hear them saying?
    Finally, I had my literacy and numeracy tests. My advice would be to make sure you brush up on your numeracy, I really struggled.
    I hope this is helpful xx