1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Primary French lesson help

Discussion in 'Primary' started by missaks, Sep 27, 2019.

1. missaks

missaks New commenter

Hello I am due to teach a primary French lesson as part of a job interview and I am a secondary teacher so just wanted to know what I should be aiming to do in half an hour? I'm thinking no more than about 5 phrases, flashcards work, actions for the phrases etc. Should I be using a ppt or is it ok to just do manual things! Help!

2. bonxie

bonxie Senior commenter

3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

If it were me I'd tend to stick with 'manual' actual objects/ flashcards, just in case the technology isn't compatible/ working on the day of the interviews. Happened to a colleague, who fortunately had printouts to retrieve the situation.

5 different phrases? If the children don't already know them this might be difficult for primaries.
    I'd stick with one phrase- possibly adding the negative form and changing it round to make a question, depending on how the children respond, rather than different phrases.

bonxie likes this.
  4. bonxie

bonxie Senior commenter

Lara is right about the technology - it's almost certain to go wrong whenever you really need i! - and limiting the new phrases would be more likely to be successful.

Working in pairs asking for the time and responding might work well as they are likely to know the number words. If o'clock times are too easy, you could extend it to half past, quarters, five to/past etc or 24 hour clock times to bring in a bit of maths.

Lara mfl 05 likes this.
  5. missaks

missaks New commenter