1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Primary/ 11+ Tutoring

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by emilyellert1, Jan 1, 2012.

1. I am a relativley new teacher (just qualified) and I live in Buckinghamshire. I have heard more and more about the benifits of tutoring and am looking for a bit of help/pointers to give me an idea of what I will be getting into. Although I have worked mainly in KS1 I think with a bit of research I would be confident in teaching 11+.
    Does anyone have any pointers as to how they got started tutoring and does anybody generally tutor KS1 children?
    11+ is very popular in my area and am very aware parents are keen for support for their children. I think 1hr a week, or 2 closer to the time is enough, any other ideas? Also how is best to fill a session, should I work through maths/NVR/VR etc seperatly or do a little each session?

Thank you :)