1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pressurising parents!

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by theroom786, Apr 26, 2018.

1. theroom786

theroom786 New commenter

Hi,
    Iam a tutor who was a teacher but left teaching and I'm a tutor since last August. Iam fuming currently because of a parent. I teach Maths GCSE and I have been tutoring a girl in Year 11 since October 2017 weekly for 1.5 hours. When I started with her, she was extremely weak in maths so much so that she couldn't add or subtract properly and that too very easy sums. Now, I have brought her to the point that she is able to do algebra. The issue is firstly I have been telling the mother that her daughter might have some learning difficulties and needs to get it checked ,as she is far below average in her learning and understanding and I also have sensed she might be dsylexic. But iam not a professional and the parents still haven't gotten it checked. Her cousins I teach too and a few of them are autistic.

Anyhow, the student is extremely demotivated in her studies. I have tried almost EVERYTHING. Alot of times she has not done her homework and I have given her more homework as a consequence and complained to the parents. She has improved alot but still not to the level of a student who is having her GCSEs in 20 days. Also,Alot of times the mother has cancelled lessons at very short notice that her daughter is sick but after I reinforced a strict cancellation policy they have become better.