1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Preschool routines

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by FionnDuff, Sep 11, 2019 at 6:10 PM.

1. FionnDuff

FionnDuff New commenter

Hi. I'm new to preschool teaching. We have one class of 25 in from 9-12:30. Can anyone share how they work the break time routine? Last year they took 4-5 children out at a time which left only one adult in a room with the other 20kids, this normally lasted a full hour and children were also reluctant to leave play when asked which meant they didn't eat anything. All suggestions greatly appreciated

2. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

We all sit together to have milk and snack, then go out to playtime with reception and KS1.
    We've tidied up just before and they all know it's snack time next.

FionnDuff likes this.
  3. May2

May2 Established commenter

I'm not sure if this is a private pre school or a nursery class in a school but can you set up a snack area in the main room and let them be more independent in getting their own snack when they want it rather than have the other member of staff missing for an hour. Could you have a parent helper rota so you have an extra adult supporting either the snack or other activities? Or as Ctb says all have snack at the same time.

4. FionnDuff

FionnDuff New commenter