1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Preparing to teach MFL

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by anon2460, Apr 13, 2011.

1. Dear All,

I really hope you don't mind me posting here but I'd very much appreciate some advice. I'm in my second year of a French and German degree at the moment and am preparing for my year abroad in Germany next year. I'm fairly sure I want to teach after doing my degree because, as silly as I'm sure it sounds, it's what I've wanted to do for a long time! I've been very lucky in the fact that I've been able to get some work experience back at my old secondary school where I was a pupil myself. I did a few days last week where I observed some lessons and I was also able to take part in some moderation of GCSE orals which was obviously guided by the staff and the mark scheme. I really loved working with the pupils and seeing how the lessons were tought and those few days made me feel almost positive that teaching is what I'm aiming for after Uni. Please could you tell me, is there anything else you think I should be doing before applying? I know it's a long way away (I'd be applying after September 2012( but I know with being abroad etc time will fly and I want to be as well prepared as I can.