1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Preparing for NQT Year whilst being a supply teacher:

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by sophiehistory, Aug 31, 2011.

1. Hello, I am a supply teacher looking for a
    NQT position in Primary Schools. Whilst I am doing this what things could I be
    doing to help me get NQT positions, ready for NQT year for example planning and
    complete NQT standards?

</h1>Any help appreciated.
    Sophie

2. Sorry I had cut
    this from another website which seems to be causing it to overlap.

<font size="2">So, hello!</font>

<font size="2">I am a supply
    teacher seeking an NQT Primary School position asap. Whilst I am doing this
    what do you suggest I do to help me prepare in any way for when I have my NQT
    post. What things could I do to help with obtaining standards, preparing for
    lessons?</font>

<font size="2">Any help and
    advice appreciated. Thank you. </font>

3. GloriaSunshine

GloriaSunshine New commenter

Most important thing is to get induction done so do everything you can to get known in different schools so that you are well placed to apply for any covers that come up. Consider moving if that will give you more opportunities. Depending on what your degree is, you might be able to pick up some hourly paid work in FE to develop subject knowledge.

4. Thanks GloriaSunshine,
    Great idea - ill be sure to make a good impression when I teach at schools as a supply.
    Do you think there is any planning I can do?

5. littlelebowski

littlelebowski New commenter

Hi Sophiehistory,