1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pregnant teacher on school trip.

Discussion in 'School trips' started by miss_c, Jun 23, 2011.

1. miss_c

miss_c New commenter

I have organised a school trip for a small number of KS5 students - a class I have been teaching for 2 years. The trip will last a day and will involve 2.5 hours on a bus each way. We will be visiting the theatre - so a rather sedentary trip for all of us.
    I am pregnant and will be 29 weeks at the time of the trip. I have been informed by management that I am no longer allowed to go on the trip I organised because of my pregnancy,
    Does anybody know of any particular health and safety guidelines which prohibit pregnant teachers from participating in school trips? I could understand it if I was in the 8th or 9th month, but at this stage there is little to no chance of me going in to labour.

2. Total rubbish, you should have a risk assessment to protect you from things like standing for a long time. I am 17 weeks pregnant and I have been on several trips, Kingswood outdoor education, canoeing, kayaking, sailing, walking and climbing. I would ask your Health and Safety officer in school for any guidelines. I assume you have written a risk assessment for the trip? Have you included events related to your pregnancy? Are you going alone?

3. blazer

blazer Star commenter