1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pregnant and job offer retracted

Discussion in 'Staff, pupil & parent's wellbeing' started by MCM26, Jun 12, 2020.

1. MCM26

MCM26 New commenter

Hi, I hope this is in the right forum?!
    I am a qualified teacher but took some time out to be with my children. In December I took a job as an LSA. A few weeks ago the school asked me to cover a maternity teaching post next year - part time. I said yes. I haven’t signed anything but staff and parents have been informed in meetings and news letter.
    Yesterday I told the Head I am pregnant. I was not pregnant when I accepted the job offer. It’s very early but disclosed it as I am working and other pregnant staff are not in school. I expected to be sent home. However, I continued to work the whole day and then at the end of the day was told to stay home to stay safe as I was classed as vulnerable. I was also told that I no longer had the teaching job from September.
    I just wonder where I stand? He was quite open that’s it’s because I’m pregnant and
    1. May not be in school due to being classed as vulnerable in September
    2. Can’t cover the full year as I am due myself.

I am not even sure I still have my post as LSA.
    Could anyone give me some advice how I follow this up with him?

2. frustum

frustum Star commenter

You go straight to your union (please tell me you are in one). They are not allowed to retract a job offer due to pregnancy.