1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pregnant & Workload stress Advice Needed!

Discussion in 'Pregnancy' started by elvis27, Apr 11, 2012.

1. Hello - just hoping for some advice on what is acceptable to request from school when 24 weeks pregnant and counting!

I work in a school with challenging behaviour at best of times and some of my classes are VERY challenging. I find things gett very uncomfortable when I am in middle of these classes.

The school day is a bit different too and I can find myself teaching 3 hours straight no break - and then on some days from 830 - 340 with only a 15 mins & a 35 min break. And of course let's not forget the 2 hour afterschool weekly meeting as well.

The school has done a RA but not the best, as I just had to say I wouldn't do playground supervision as was hit by ball, and put myself iin canteen and not much safer really, but now they can't say I am not doing my contractual duties.

I don't want to be a pain, but I was exhausted, emotional and just plain not good at end of term and had to take a couple days off - but don't want to get to that point again.

Just wondering what would be reasonable to request from my school to help and support me? Anyone in similar situation. Any ideas grateful!

Thanks!