1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pregnancy concern

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by mymindisnotabedtobemadeandremade, Dec 18, 2018.

1. Hi,
    I am a teacher, pregnant for the first time. I have told my head that I am pregnant, and my head hasn’t drawn up a risk assessment that I could look over. I am also concerned that they are adding a new child to my class, with ASD. On his referral forms it states that he can lash out and become violent, throwing chairs sometimes. I have raised the concern but no one seems to be listening. I don’t feel he should be placed in my class. Am I over reacting?

Thanks

2. becky70

becky70 Occasional commenter

The risk assessment is a legal requirement so go back to your head - they have to do it. Maybe you need to draw up the risk assessment together, especially as you have a specific concern re: an aggressive child.
    I don't know about the child not being placed in your class - if the school are admitting him, he has to go somewhere but a risk assessment would address any concerns.

3. hs9981

hs9981 Established commenter

agathamorse and grumpydogwoman like this.
  4. frustum

frustum Star commenter

Some children with ASD do not find change easy - in which case that would be an alternative argument that putting him in a class due to have a change of teacher may not be the best option.

Lalad likes this.
  5. FrankWolley

FrankWolley Star commenter

If not involved already, I'd contact my Union if I was the OP.

6. Piranha

Piranha Star commenter