1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Predicting KS1 results from FSP data

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by lost_in_translation, Jul 6, 2012.

1. I know this topic has been covered many times and I have read many of the old threads. However due to changes in the EY curriculum and the government much of the referenced information and articles on various websites has been archived and I can no longer access it! So after some up to date advice and pointers.

I am a Reception teacher who is due to have a transition meeting with the Y1 teacher in the next couple of weeks. The school SIA has asked that I go through the FSP data with her (of course) and that I predict from it where the children should be at the end of year 2, and working back from that where they need to be at the end of year 1.

I am totally against doing this, for all the reasons that have been discussed in previous threads. I have not been asked to do this before, I have always been told at moderation meetings and by my EYAT that this is not the right thing to be doing and have always made it clear to my head that I feel the same way. I know that the head and SIA have always used the FSP data to do this anyway but I have never been directly involved.

Our head is currently away on personal leave so we have an acting head in. The SIA has asked me, via our deputy, to make these predictions. Apparently he told her that 'a P level of 8 predicts a level 3'. I wish he had said this to me as there are so many problems with that statement it is unbelievable! P levels in Reception - really?!