1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pre-retirement support

Discussion in 'Retirement' started by Curly467, Aug 18, 2019.

1. Curly467

Curly467 New commenter

I work in the public sector and was very interested to stumble across this informative forum. I am 47 and starting to consider my retirement options but feel there is a lack of advice/information on how to successfully transition into retirement particularly in the areas of finding purpose, creating a new identity, building new social networks and creating boundaries in terms of caring responsibilities. As a result, I am considering setting up a series of workshops and events with guest speakers in central London for those who are approaching retirement or who are recently retired. To make sure I am addressing the right needs, I would really appreciate any feedback at all you can supply on the below questions.

What are the biggest challenges (other than financial) that you wish you had had advice on before retiring?
    If you are still working, what worries you most about retirement (other than financial)
    If interested, would you prefer to attend weekend or evening events on this topic?

All feedback gratefully received.

eljefeb90 and djhappy like this.
  2. Skeoch

Skeoch Lead commenter

ATL, now part of the NEU union, had (might still have) day courses which did this

3. Curly467

Curly467 New commenter

Many thanks for letting me know. I will look into it.

4. eljefeb90

eljefeb90 Senior commenter