1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice
  3. The Teacher Q&A will be closing soon.

If you have any information that you would like to keep or refer to in the future please can you copy and paste the information to a format suitable for you to save or take screen shots of the questions and responses you are interested in.

Don’t forget you can still use the rest of the forums on theTes Community to post questions and get the advice, help and support you require from your peers for all your teaching needs.

Dismiss Notice

practical ideas for interview

Discussion in 'Science' started by brandy1810, Apr 29, 2011.

1. hi, i am a student teacher and i have an interview next week and they have asked me to teach a how science works lesson. its one hour long to year 10 and want me to carry out a practical and draw a graph. Can you think of any straightforward practicals that doesnt involve lots of health and safety or lots of equipment? i also would like to do a chemistry practical as even though i am a biologist, biology practicals are usually slow and unreliable, and i hate physics! Any ideas would be much appreciate. thanks.

2. blazer

blazer Star commenter

One that springs to mind would be rates of Reaction. They won't tackle it till yr 11 so it will be new to them.

Get some 1cm pieces of Mg ribbon and HCl in 2 concentrations. (between 2 and 0.5M). Boiling tubes and stopclocks.

They can time how long it takes for the Mg to be used up in each conc and then plot a graph of time vs Conc with Conc on the x axis as it is the independent variable (remember 'Babies nappies', the thing you change goes on the bottom)!