1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PPA cover teacher role and performance management review

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by dimples87, Jan 7, 2016.

1. dimples87

dimples87 New commenter

Hi all

My first post here,

I am currently working in a primary school as a PPA cover teacher and started in Sept 2015. I am actually a trained secondary MFL teacher, but am considering making a leap into primary, so am pleased to have this particular role. I am finding it interesting and very insightful, as it means I get to teach a variety of lessons, with different years and key stages, before I decide whether I want a class teacher role, and all the responsibility that comes with it. I generally get asked by teachers to teach their French which is fine, and I have been planning all SOWs and lessons, plus resources for all French classes in yrs 3-6, which again is enjoyable for me - it's my passion!

My concern is that I am yet to have any kind of appraisal meeting, or discussion regarding targets, performance management review and ultimately pay. I am working extremely hard to fulfil the role well by marking work I have taught, feeding back to teachers properly faster lessons and following up behaviour issues and misconceptions met during class (unlike some others who see it as the easy option).