1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Potential to improve with DCD

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by bettyhen, Jun 15, 2011.

1. My 7 year old (mildly ASD) son has been diagnosed with developmental co-ordination disorder. Apart from for throwing and catching, where he is on the 63rd percentile, he is on the 5th percentile for everything else, including working memory. I think he's intellectually bright and his reading and comprehension is good through he can't write down his responses. I'm a secondary teacher so don't see the changes that can take place. Is he likely to improve significantly with support or will there always be a significant deficit? School have introduced a get set goprogramme devised by the OT and we are going to the movement and learning centre in Bo'ness.